Muesli Musings 7

It’s another job related musing today. While I don’t get lollipop ladies – despite a few anrgy emails from lollipop supporters – I do have the ultimate respect for people who work night shifts.

I went to bed at 5am this morning when the sun was up and the quality of sleep was not the same. They say if you get an hour before midnight it is worth two after and I completely agree. It’s all to do with the body’s rhythm as well as sunlight coming in through the windows. 

Now I don’t need much sleep – about 4 or 5 hours is fine. But I’ve worked out my optimum sleep time is 2am – 7am or 2am-8am (if I don’t go swimming / jogging). If I get to bed at 3ish, I can sleep well but as soon as the clock ticks towards 4, I feel awake again and almost ready for a new day.

Eventually I drifted off thanks to the help of two sleep masks (for some reason one was not enough to make it dark). That’s my tip of the day – if you have to go to bed when it’s light then sleep masks are the way forward.

And make sure there is at least one day when you get to bed before 2am (if not midnight) because you’ll notice a difference in sleep quality

Leave a Reply

